Home Entertainment List Of Departments In Nigerian Police Force

List Of Departments In Nigerian Police Force

All Departments Of Nigerian Police Force

The Departments Of Nigerian Police, Different Types Of, Position, Level, Funds, Order, Department, Officers, Station, All, Money, Annual, Allowance, Peacekeeping, New, Updated

The Nigerian Police Departments

The Directorate of Operations was subdivided into four units under a deputy director—operations, training, communications, and the Mobile Police.
The Directorate of Administration was composed of an administration unit headed by an assistant inspector general (AIG), and of budget and personnel units under commissioners.
The Directorate of Logistics had four units—procurement, workshop/transport, supply, and work/maintenance—under AIGs. The zonal arrangements were retained. However, AIGs were authorized to transfer officers up to the rank of chief superintendent, to set up provost units, to deploy mobile units, and to promote officers between the ranks of sergeant and inspector.
The above three Directorates were renamed Departments

Criminal Investigation Department

The Criminal Investigation Department (CID) is the highest criminal investigation arm of the Nigeria Police NPF. The Department is headed by a Deputy Inspector-General (DIG). Its primary functions include investigation and prosecution of serious and complex criminal cases within and outside the Country. The Department also coordinates crime investigations throughout the NPF. The CID is divided into sections, with most of them headed by Commissioners of Police (CPs). The Sections are:

  • i. Administration
  • ii. Anti-Fraud Section
  • iii. The Central Criminal Registry (CCR)
  • iv. Special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS). The pressure group End SARS has criticised its activities.
  • v. X-Squad
  • vi. General Investigation
  • vii. Special Fraud Unit (SFU)
  • viii. Legal Section
  • ix. Forensic Science Laboratory
  • x. Interpol Liaison
  • xi. Homicide
  • xii. Anti-Human Trafficking Unit
  • xiii. Force Intelligence Bureau (FIB)
  • xiv. DCI Kaduna Annex
  • xv. Counter Terrorism Unit (CTU)

Mobile policeman

A police shed for standing during rainy and sunny
period of work on road traffic.

The Police Mobile Force was established as a strike or Anti-riot unit under the control of the Inspector-General of Police to counter incidents of civil disturbance. It is designated to take over operations of major crisis where conventional police units cannot cope.
There are presently 12 MOPOL Commands, MOPOLs 1 thru 12, controlling 52 Police Mobile Squadrons which are spread amongst the 36 State Commands and Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

Supervision of the Nigeria Police

  • The Police Service Commission (PSC)

The PSC is the civilian oversight body on the police. It is responsible for appointment, promotion, and discipline of all police officers except the Inspector General of Police. It shal
l collaborate, cooperate and work with all the stake holders, namely the police council with the President of Nigeria as Chairman, all the Governors of the Federating States of Nigeria, the Minister of Interior and the Inspector-General of Police as members to turn the police around an
d enable it to meet the challenges of the 21st century.

  • The Nigeria Police Council (NPC)
  • The Ministry of Interior